April 17

#VerseLove Day 17, Choices We Make

Motherhood

Once upon a time…
the beginning to every great fairytale
once upon a time…
I was a solid corporate climber

middle management, respected
even admired by some
comfortable lifestyle
the world was my oyster

once upon a time…
I left that corporate world
to become a stay-at-home mom
by choice, with enthusiasm

once upon a time…
“what do you do [career]?”
“ummm, raise my children”
dead silence

once upon a time…
I lived the ego-diminishing
reality that no one
respected what I chose to do

once upon a time…
I was a mother to young children
who depended on me for everything
who thought I was all-knowing

once upon a time…
those children grew up
now live independent lives
my love and care undiminished

today…
I hope my influence
is felt and appreciated,
that once upon a time…

was the right choice.

Tags: , ,

Posted April 17, 2022 by inspirepassion in category Poetry, VerseLove

About the Author

I am a process-focused leader who uses collaboration, authenticity, and mentoring as key skills to inspire passion among learners of all ages. Aggregate eclectic professional experiences have honed my ability to coach others in designing and implementing courses of study using inquiry-/project-based learning (PBL).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*