April 2

#VerseLove Day 2, Core Memories

The prompt for today was about “core memories,” and many people posted delightful, positive memories. I have some of those too, but what came most strongly to mind were the hurts, the dysfunction I grew up with. I understand that my parents did the best they could with the tools they had. As an adult, I also know they love me, they just are extremely crippled in their ability to express it.

things that still hold me

being afraid to lie
being afraid to not lie
caution, secrecy
never reveal too much
the flush of shame
without even knowing why

trying harder to be loved
never succeeding
vowing to show my own children
an unconditional acceptance
and non-stop love

 


Posted April 2, 2022 by inspirepassion in category Deeper Learning

About the Author

I am a process-focused leader who uses collaboration, authenticity, and mentoring as key skills to inspire passion among learners of all ages. Aggregate eclectic professional experiences have honed my ability to coach others in designing and implementing courses of study using inquiry-/project-based learning (PBL).

2 thoughts on “#VerseLove Day 2, Core Memories

  1. dogtrax

    Memory poems are always a balancing act — particularly when sharing them out in the open like this … Thank you for being brave in the writing.
    Kevin

    Reply
    1. inspirepassion (Post author)

      Thank you, Kevin. I nearly chickened out. But, trying to stay true to Brene Brown’s declaration, “Shame cannot survive being spoken.”

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*