March 20

#SOL22 #20

Another nature exploration today! Robins are such a sign of spring, and this one has been frequenting my backyard for a week or two. The incessant hoeing I’ve been doing to rid the perimeter area of the yard of a blanket of weeds has unearthed great food sources for this creature, and I am sure that is part of the attraction. The Oregon grape I have in the yard is evidently also a good food source.

I wondered whether the robin also has a nearby nest, since when it flies, it doesn’t go far. But, no! Robins only lay their first clutch of eggs in late April or early May, even here in the temperate Pacific Northwest. So, this visitor is evidently just enjoying the peace of the ‘hood. Well, other than for the redtail hawk that roosts in a nearby tree!

Not surprisingly, pesticides can kill or harm robins. Not only directly, but also in the harm/death that occurs among some of their favorite food sources, worms and bugs.

Tags: , ,

Posted March 20, 2022 by inspirepassion in category SOL22

About the Author

I am a process-focused leader who uses collaboration, authenticity, and mentoring as key skills to inspire passion among learners of all ages. Aggregate eclectic professional experiences have honed my ability to coach others in designing and implementing courses of study using inquiry-/project-based learning (PBL).

8 thoughts on “#SOL22 #20

  1. Lainie Levin

    I love this exploration of nature. There’s something about robins as the harbinger of spring. They fill me with such anticipation and hope. Wonderful!

    I also have an unrelated question. I notice that you use edublogs. I’ve been thinking about making edublogs my classroom site. Have you had good experiences with it?

    Reply
    1. inspirepassion (Post author)

      Thank you, Lainie! I’ve used edublogs since 2014 and have had good success. In addition to this personal/professional site, I have https://meliora.edublogs.org/, which is devoted to my PBL practice. Edublogs is layered on top of WordPress, so if you have any familiarity with WP, it will feel familiar. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  2. Dr. Carla Michelle Brown

    Dear Charlene,

    I love this post for so many reasons. I always treasured the opportunities to glimpse and glance at robins in my hometown of Houston. I don’t see them nearly as often here in Colorado. The lovely photograph that you provided instantly took me back to the warm and sunny days when I was graced by their presence.

    Your post captures your attention to detail as does the hyperlink you provided for more information. I enjoyed this terribly! It was like a snapshot of national geographic complete with the narration in a most inviting voice. Thank you so much for sharing this! It brightened my day :o)

    With Warmest Regards,

    ~Dr. Carla Michelle Brown

    Reply
  3. Patricia Holloway

    Great picture! I enjoyed the science you included within your slice. And I love the lay out for your blog! It looks as though it could be your nature journal!

    Reply
    1. inspirepassion (Post author)

      Hi Patricia,

      For sure this theme could be representative of many kinds of journals! I’ve had the same theme “forever,” and am getting a fair number of comments on it as part of this “slice month.”

      Take care,
      Charlene

      Reply
    1. inspirepassion (Post author)

      Kim, you have posted SO many awesome bird photos over the years. You have a knack for catching all the sea birds at the perfect moment!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*