May 3

#VerseLove Day 23, Rolling the Dice

This prompt asked us to roll three “metaphor dice” for inspiration. Mine arrived as “home / midnight / dance.” Here goes.

be home from the dance by midnight

which is to say

only dance with nice boys
drink only water, the
punch might be spiked
the world is scarier after dark
nice girls go home early
dancing is only safe
in the shelter of
an overheated gym

I say
dance like no one is watching
have mace at the ready
look all boys in the eye,
seek their truth
the world is scary
at any time of day
I am woman
I am invincible
I am strong

Tags: , , ,

Posted May 3, 2022 by inspirepassion in category Poetry, VerseLove

About the Author

I am a process-focused leader who uses collaboration, authenticity, and mentoring as key skills to inspire passion among learners of all ages. Aggregate eclectic professional experiences have honed my ability to coach others in designing and implementing courses of study using inquiry-/project-based learning (PBL).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*